openSUSE Project Tumbleweed

With the release of openSUSE 11.4 Project Tumbleweed has now come true. Very nice idea, lets hope it works! If you don’t know what Tumbleweed is, it is a rolling release of openSUSE in a more stable manner than running something like Factory, which is considered more along the lines of unstable like a Debian Etch or Fedora Rawhide. Read the link bellow for more info.

If you would like to convert your standard openSUSE 11.4 to running Tumbleweed it is this simple.

Open up a terminal and either become root or sudo the commands bellow:

Add Tumbleweed to your YaST or zypper installation repositories and enable autorefresh:

zypper ar --refresh http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/Tumbleweed/standard/ Tumbleweed

Do a distro update from Tumbleweed as needed. The first time you will need to accept the GPG key:

zypper dup --from Tumbleweed

You can also add the Pacman repository with Tumbleweed as well, which is nice since most openSUSE users will have this repository enabled for more non-free type software.


zypper ar --refresh http://ftp.uni-erlangen.de/pub/mirrors/packman/suse/openSUSE_Tumbleweed/ "Packman Tumbleweed"

Upgrade Packman packages as well:
zypper dup --from "Packman Tumbleweed"

Results may very and if your system blows up, don’t blame me..

Click to see more about Project Tumbleweed

Please subscribe and give quality feedback.

You can test the Tumbleweed repository and give a feedback, share experience and report issues to the openSUSE Factory mailing list(opensuse-factory@opensuse.org). If direct access to the list fails, please subscribe using this link(opensuse-factory+subscribe@opensuse.org). Don’t forget to answer on confirmation email that list server will send few minutes after you initial email. This way we prevent that someone else subscribe you to the list.

As always: “Have a lot of fun…

10 thoughts on “openSUSE Project Tumbleweed

  1. Hi, very useful information.

    But I have few doubts; I always have had the habit of adding other repositories than that of official ones! like mozilla, ati!

    so my question is can I use the official oss, non-oss, + the above mentioned non official ones in parallel with tumbleweed?

    or should I disable them and only use the Tumbleweed?

    Will really appreciate your answer. Thanks

    – Diimaan

    • Diimaan,

      All good questions, and I guess I will find out on a desktop and/or VM with testing it. I also enable a few repos too and so far things are still working ok. I had to install NVIDIA drivers manually since the kernel that is in Tumbleweed there aren’t builds for the drivers.

      If it is mission critical, then I wouldn’t do it. Both of my main desktop and laptop are backed up so I can mess them up without loosing sleep. I don’t always have the time for a rebuilt and so I will be keeping my macbook pro just running openSUSE 11.4 until I feel Tumbleweed is mature and ready to take over. πŸ˜‰

  2. oh thanks! I will be waiting for your feedback.

    Because openSUSE is the only distribution that properly displays and supports my native languiage. I was eagerly waiting for rolling release model for openSUSE.

    You planning to do any detailed review too? I heard through other reviews that so far so good, but none in english! πŸ™‚

    • Not sure on the detailed review, I’m not the best writer in the world and I have trouble keeping my blog updated πŸ˜‰

      I will think about it some and will certianly keep testing it and figuring out how well it plays with the other repo’s I’ve enabled.

      I need to get a better understanding of zypper coming from a yum and apt-get mostly world, I need to just understand more of the updating and when I do “dup” how often I might break my system and if I should just add higher priority to the Tumbleweed repos.

  3. I did find a few englih reviews by the way:

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/03/14/opensuse_11_point_4_review/

    http://eyeonlinux.com/2011/03/10/quick-look-opensuse-11-4/

    http://www.jupiterbroadcasting.com/?p=6068

    http://www.linuxdistroreview.com/opensuse-11-4

    There was a couple more I had read last night but can’t find the links. I was suprised to see all distrowatch.com had was mostly German and Czech reviews.

    A nice feature in installing Googles Chrome or openSUSE has Chromium is when you go to one of the reviews you can hit a translate button.

    zypper in chromium chromium-ffmpeg

    • Thank you for the links, I haven’t used zypper much in comparison with a lot of the other tools so I’m sure they will come in handy. I’ve used SuSE off and on from 6.2 through all the 7.x, tested 8, 9, 10 and 11 but never stuck with any until a bit of 11.3 and now 11.4. Back then so many tools came out on how to update and install packages they couldn’t decide until someone came up with zypper which is nice, smart wasn’t bad and it looks like some of that went into it.

      I do like there 8 months, recent updates yet stable. Novell put me off a bit and now they have been bought up so we shall see where the furture takes them.

  4. I wonder why there is another repository for tumbleweed like the packman one?
    One of the ideas of tumbleweed was to centralize the many repositorys that one usually added before the existense of tumbleweed to get a kind of rolling distribution.
    Am I wrong?
    Sincerely, Thomas

Leave a Reply

